morningstaraca

Some of my happiest memories growing up are those of my mother reading to me. I loved curling up in her lap, her gentle voice taking me on adventures overseas, galaxies, and through time. I learned to associate reading with love, comfort and contentment. It’s no wonder that almost forty years later nothing is as wonderful to me as curling up with a cup of tea and a good book.

I read to my children from birth, well into their teen years. We love to sit by the fireplace on a snowy afternoon, bundled in blankets, sipping hot drinks as we drift off to magical places.

photo-2

When we think of reading to children, we often think of non readers or very young children. The benefits of reading to young children are many, but the benefits of reading to children of all ages are just as many.

When you read to…

View original post 349 more words